Rewards and Awards

Showcasing the best of the work on our Student Hub. Read on to learn more about our "Thought Leaders" for each Project and the winners of our annual awards. This page also celebrates achievements in our former core programme, The Burnet News Club.


Students can discuss a new Project on the Student Hub every 8 weeks. At the end of each Project, we recognise the school that made the most valuable contributions to the discussions by naming them the "Thought Leader".

We pick the Thought Leader by looking for these things on the Student Hub:

  • Students showing in-depth knowledge of the issue
  • Students making good use of the Topical Talk skills
  • Students demonstrating eagerness to interact and learn from other students

2021 - 2022 Thought Leaders

Project 2 (Afghanistan) Thought Leader announced

Beit Hanoun Prep Girls A School

Project 1 (COP26) Thought Leader announced

Rafah Prep (B) Girls School

2019 - 2020 Thought Leaders

Issue 6 Thought Leader: Cancel Culture

New Horizons Children's Academy

Issue 5 Thought Leader: Building Back Greener

Beit Hanoun Prep A Girls School, Rafah Prep B Girls School and School College Pilote Sousse

Issue 4 Thought Leader: From pandemic to infodemic

Boutcher C of E Primary School

Issue 3 Thought Leader: Protest

Upton Cross Primary School

Issue 2: The Future of Work

Cheam Common Junior Academy

Issue 1: The American election

Michael Faraday School


Between 2015-2021, The Burnet News Club was our core programme for schools. Each year, we celebrated students achievements with a ceremony at The Queen's Gallery, Buckingham Palace. For the final two years, we held the ceremony online due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The ceremony celebrated another year of the club and recognised outstanding students from participating schools. Learn more about the awards below.

We look forward to holding the first Topical Talk annual awards ceremony in 2022!

Burnet News Club Awards Ceremony 2021

With more awards than ever, find out who was walking down the virtual red carpet!

Burnet News Club Awards Ceremony 2020

Winning School: Hammond Junior School
Teacher of the Year Award: Hamda Sheikh from Preston Manor School

Burnet News Club Awards Ceremony 2019

Winning School: Boutcher C of E Primary School
Teacher of the Year Award: Michael Baker from Faringdon Community College

Burnet News Club Awards Ceremony 2018

Winning School: Michael Faraday School
Outstanding Teacher Award: Diane Rougvie-Fevrier from St Gregory’s Primary School

Burnet News Club Awards Ceremony 2017

Winning School: Faringdon Community College
Outstanding Teacher Award: Claire Hofer from Elaine Primary Academy

Burnet News Club Awards Ceremony 2016

Winning School: Napier Community Primary School.

Burnet News Club Awards Ceremony 2015

Winning school: North Beckton Primary School